Powerful Play Private Practice

I have a big announcement to make: I am now in private practice!  I resigned from my hospital position several weeks ago and have been planning and working toward this venture for a while.  It was a difficult and bittersweet decision to leave the hospital- I love my hospital work with children and families!  My husband and I want to start a family and the workload and commute to my hospital job just didn’t seem like the right fit for the future. I am hoping for a work/life balance that will allow me to remain professionally connected, intellectually engaged, and create time and space for the family life we want to have.  We’ll see if starting this practice meets those goals!  Who knows what the future holds, right? But, I know that whatever happens on this new path that I’ll gain valuable experience to add to my child life toolbox.  I’m really excited to take my child life skills into homes and the wider community.

blog portrait teddy

It’s always good to have a teddy bear at hand!

Writing this blog has been a really fun part of my child life experience and so I’ve decided to keep it up.  I will continue to post activities, thoughts, and information relevant to child life practice both in and out of the hospital.  I’ll also be using this as a space to document this new adventure called self-employment and the joys/challenges of private practice.  I’ve remained partially anonymous since starting this blog, but have decided to put a face and a name to the words I write here.  So, let me introduce myself.  My name is Zoë McCoy and I’m the founder of Powerful Play, a child life private practice in Houston, TX.

 

5 thoughts on “Powerful Play Private Practice

  1. Kristen Avers says:

    Hi! My name is Kristen Avers and I am a CCLS! I am currently working in a school as a classroom assistant, which I love, but I am also considering going into private practice! I am just reaching out to you to see if you could offer any suggestions about how to go about becoming an independent CCLS. What kind of paperwork has to be filled out? Any specific company licensures? How to market the company? Liability insurance? Contactig the council? Contracts for patients? Any and all suggestions would be extremely helpful as I am feeling very lost in this field so far! Thanks in advance! Have a wonderful day and good luck to you in all your future endeavors!

    Kristen Avers, BA, CCLS

    • Hi Kristen-
      I’m happy to share some of my experience with you. Things are a little different in every county/state depending on the laws regarding setting up a business. Here in Texas it is pretty easy and I can tell you what I’ve done. But, you’ll want to research (your local small business association can help) and talk to local people in similar situations (maybe counselors or tutors) in your area. Since you have a lot of questions, I’ll send a message to your email outside of this blog.
      Thanks for reading the blog!
      Zoe

      • Kristen Avers says:

        Thanks Zoe! I really appreciate you taking the time to answer my questions!! I’m excited to jump into this field and practice what I’ve studied so long and hard for! Your help means the world! I look forward to your email! Thanks again!

        Kristen Avers, BA, CCLS

  2. Congrats on your new adventure! It is amazing to connect the child life skills you have to a larger community.
    I love being a stay at home mom and incorporating child life in to my home and others.
    Good Luck :)
    You may leave the hospital but child life will never leave you!

Leave a Reply

